Baby rabbit

One morning last week my partner noticed that we were being visited by a tiny baby rabbit and I managed to take this photo through the bars of the decking.  We watched her / him having a good feast as s/he stayed for quite a while going up and down the bed leaving a trail of tiny pellets to mark progress through the plants.

I have seen rabbits in the fields nearby but never in the garden before and it put me in mind of one of my favourite childhood stories – The Tale of Peter Rabbit (by Beatrix Potter).  Peter ignored his mother’s warnings to avoid Mr McGregor’s garden and instead headed straight for it looking for food.  Mrs Rabbit knew Mr McGregor would undoubtedly kill Peter on sight if he was found in the vegetable patch.

Unlike the fabled Mr McGregor I don’t mind a bit.  Years ago I didn’t like it when we let our pet rabbit out in the garden and she ate all my best plants; but these days I have a much more relaxed approach to sharing with other creatures.  I don’t suppose I would be too happy if bunny returned with the whole family and they ate everything, but as it is the garden can very easily afford him some sustenance in what will probably only be a short life anyway.

Post Script 21 April 2016: The baby rabbit did indeed have a short life. We saw him again this morning whilst having a coffee and by this afternoon all that remained was one paw.  The neighbour’s cat who has a reputation for killing rabbits had caught and eaten him.

 

About Anni Kelsey

Author of Edible Perennial Gardening and avid researcher into edible perennials and associated useful plants.
This entry was posted in Borderland Garden, Relationship with nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby rabbit

  1. Peter Samsom says:

    I’ve always felt that someone needed to rewrite the Peter Rabbit story from Mr MacGregor’s point of view. I’m fairly relaxed about them too and get visited every now and again, but remember the day went rabbits tasted every plant and decided they didn’t like any! Rabbit fencing keeps them out most of the time now.

    Like

  2. Andy P says:

    All wildlife is nice to see, but often from the other side of a fence 🙂 I was happy with rabbits in my garden until they ate everything I planted and nibbled at everything that poked it’s head above the soil. I spent weeks putting up chicken wire fencing around the garden only to then watch them hop over the fence when the grass and weeds on the other side grew and they had a platform to stand on. I then fenced off veg beds and put protectors around most fruit bushes but it became impracticable to keep doing this. Three cats have kept them at bay for the last 2 years. Lovely little creatures in someone else’s garden 🙂

    I was also over the moon when a Moorhen appeared on my pond….until that devastated every pond plant by using it to may a nest. My next problem was / is slugs.

    There’s a place for all wildlife, but a garden is often not that place 🙂

    Enjoy it the sight but you could well be writing a different post in a month 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

