….. and the beginning of a new challenge

Over the years of experimenting with perennial vegetables I have been buying and also saving a lot of seeds.  Of course I have planted a lot too, but I seem to have ended up with an amazing quantity.  As we moved house I was finding them in all sorts of drawers, cupboards and corners that I had forgotten about.  Yesterday I finally had time to sort through them and laid them out on the floor, still in their boxes.  What a lot!

DSCN6901 seeds galore

I sorted and listed them and have 167 different things which is far more than I thought.  I have had some of them for a number of years and they will be less likely to germinate, but many of them will still be fine.

DSCN6902

 

In view of this massive stash it is just as well that as we were going through the process of selling our home the offer of a new place to grow veggies arose.  Graham, who I met at Shrewsbury Flower Show in the summer, has offered me the chance to grow on a patch of land where he lives.

DSCN6903

The polyculture patches I have grown in to date have been small, in contrast the potential growing area in the new location is, at a guess ten times the area, or possibly more.  So, it’s just as well I have a lot of seeds to start things off.  I also have some ideas I want to try out so watch this space to see how things evolve!

PS I do still have the Borderland Garden which I will be developing at the same time as taking on the new challenge.

Happy Christmas to everyone!

About Anni Kelsey

Author of Edible Perennial Gardening and avid researcher into edible perennials and associated useful plants.
This entry was posted in Edible Perennial Gardening, Forest Gardening, Seeds and seed saving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ….. and the beginning of a new challenge

  1. Andy says:

    Over the years I’ve had exactly the same problem, packets of seeds all over the place. I found loads of flower seeds and because when I have tried to sow some in the past they have failed as they are too old. A couple of months ago I collected them all up, and there was a lot, and sprinkled them all over my old bonfire patch that I dug over, as well as various other places around the field.

    …to my surprise many of them germinated in the Autumn and look good and strong at present. I have no idea what many of them are but am hopeful that a fair few will make it through the winter.

    At the same time I bought 400 mixed flower bulbs, and dug them in randomly around the field.

    In the spring I will take the same approach with all the vegetable seed packets that are kicking around.

    I’m hoping for some surprises but think this is a good use of all those random seed packets laying around 🙂

    Like

  2. Deni says:

    What your opinion about vegetables plant in a pot? Because is my hobby

    Like

Leave a Reply

