Autumn glory

This morning the glorious autumn sunshine sparkled on the dew covered garden.  It was like a distillation of joy!  I have no time to spend outside today soaking up the sunshine and pottering about; but small moments rescued from between the collective pressures of this, that and the other help to redress the balance in life.  I have been out for a quick wander amongst the plants, picking seeds, savouring what is probably the last fresh strawberry until 2012 and anticipating some harvests yet to come. 

The Cherokee Trail of Tears french beans are still flowering and producing pods large enough to eat, seemingly in a few days.  Those that I have not managed to get in time are being allowed to mature for seed for next year.  I bought them from the Real Seed Company and they match their description of being prolific and cropping over a long season (http://www.realseeds.co.uk/beans.html).  Clearly they are not perennials like most of my vegetables, but I am trying to use as many beans and peas as I can for the benefit of their nitrogen fixing properties as well as obviously to eat.

It is a bit early for taking stock of the season as a whole with roots and tubers not yet ready to harvest. I have noticed tubers forming beneath some of the oca growing in containers.  They were bulging upwards and going a bit green, so I covered them with some soil.  An indication, I hope, of lots more forming out of sight.

I am hoping that the harvest from the truly massive Jerusalem artichokes matches the towering growth.  These pictures were taken a few minutes ago, the second with the camera held just above my head!

About Anni Kelsey

Author of Edible Perennial Gardening and avid researcher into edible perennials and associated useful plants.
This entry was posted in Forest Gardening, perennial greens, Perennial Vegetables, Permaculture, Polycultures, roots and tubers, Suppliers, Telford Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn glory

  1. Deano says:

    Hi Anni
    Great Pictures.
    Wishing you well
    Deano

    Like

  2. Simon says:

    Your garden is looking fantastic and those artichokes are huge. I’m growing some in my front garden for the first time this year but they are much smaller. When are you planning to harvest yours?

    Like

Leave a Reply

