Wonderful Welsh onions

I harvested two Welsh onions this afternoon.  They were approximately 95 cm tall at the highest point and yielded 200g of green leaf  and 125g of stem.  I use the leaves raw in salad, or if they are a bit tough they can be lightly cooked, maybe in an omelette.  The stem is pungently oniony and is best cooked.  I have just eaten a very small raw slice of it and my mouth is hot!

Welsh onions are reliably perennial and hardy – I have been growing them for four years with no problems, although some did die last winter.  If you are wondering how they can be perennial after being dug up and eaten – they tend to clump and grow new bulbs / stems from the base.  The two plants I dug today began as one plant.  I was going to dig one and leave one, but that was not practical.  I could have re-planted the second, thus preserving the clump.  As an experiment I have cut off the bottom 2 – 3 cm of each and replanted those sections to see if they grow.

This year they have performed better than ever before.  Previously they have had to contend with a succession of very wet, cool and sunless summers and I think that they have appreciated this year’s drier and warmer conditions.  I have plants dotted about the garden, trying out different types of location; and their favourite place is at the edge of a deep bed which is fertile, moist (because well mulched) and well drained. 

I have raised my plants from seed and on the strength of the good results this summer have got lots of young plants coming on.  Seed is currently available from:

The pictures below show before and after photos to give some idea of the size of the plants and the yields.

Before,

after,

and ready to eat

About Anni Kelsey

Author of Edible Perennial Gardening and avid researcher into edible perennials and associated useful plants.
This entry was posted in Forest Gardening, perennial greens, Perennial Vegetables, Permaculture, Suppliers, Telford Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderful Welsh onions

  1. David Bell says:

    I grew them for the first time this year and I am very impressed by them

    Like

  2. Good web site – you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

