Growing Oca

I grew oca for the first time last year and loved it.  The taste of the tubers has been described as lemony potatoes and that is a good description.  It was hard not to eat them all but I wanted to save some for the following year, so I wrapped forty or so tubers loosely in an old cotton cloth and left them in a frost free garage over the winter. 

On 23 February I planted some into pots that had begun to sprout and left them for a few weeks in the same spot in the garage.  I planted them into pots because I was not sure about how early they can go into the ground.  On 7 March I planted into pots some new oca tubers just received from a supplier in France.  They also stayed in the garage for a few weeks.  On 23 March I planted the remainder of my saved tubers and a few of the French ones (these were starting to shrivel by then).  Around then as the weather was behaving I put all the pots in sheltered spots near the house. 

Because I like oca so much and because it is not that easy to come by I have been fretting about their welfare and wondering when I was going to see the first signs of growth.  I recalled that they seemed to take a long time last year, but that did not appease the anxious wait.   I was just starting to think that something had gone wrong when today I saw the first tiny green shoots peering through several of the pots!  Hooray!

About Anni Kelsey

Author of Edible Perennial Gardening and avid researcher into edible perennials and associated useful plants.
This entry was posted in Forest Gardening, Perennial Vegetables, roots and tubers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Oca

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hello
    I’m looking for a source to purchase oca for my garden..any suggestions?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Growing Oca (2) | Anni's perennial veggies

Leave a Reply

